Scrum half Jack Bickerdike has won a tight race to lift the players’ player of the year award at Cleckheaton.

He received one more vote than triple runners-up Matty Piper, player-coach Rob Afoa-Peterson and Ross Hayden.

Josh White was runner-up for the most improved player (Gomarsall Trophy), which went to James Crowther, but gained consolation by being a clear winner of the second team players’ player.

Back-rower Jamie Booth was the inaugural winner of the Craig Busby Memorial Shield as Bradford Salem’s player of the year, pipping full back Danny Belcher.

Alex Wood was most improved player, while Richard Langhorn was the Boars’ (second team) player of the year.

Alistair Beaumont won Baildon first team’ players’ player award, while player of the year was James Fox, who was runner-up in the players’ player category.

Most improved player was Sam Thompson, while the second team player of the year was Ricky Powell.

The spirit award went to Nick Giles, the players’ player to Tom Christie, the Man of Steel award to Ben Goodyear and the socialist award to Tom Peel.