Can Gary Jones hang on to his title as the Telegraph & Argus/JCT600 City player of the year?

Or will the likes of Stephen Darby, Andrew Davies or James Hanson take the crown?

It’s down to YOU, the fans, to decide who will win the coveted trophy at the club’s end-of-season awards night on Tuesday, May 6.

City’s first season back in the third tier since 2007 has been a “troubled” one at times, according to boss Phil Parkinson, because of injuries and a long mid-term run without a win.

But with safety virtually secured, there have still been plenty of contenders for supporters to consider.

Ever-green skipper Jones must be in the running to retain the title after once again turning back the clock with so many consistent performances.

Darby could be another fancied choice after playing every game at right back, while centre half Davies has featured in 11 of the team’s 12 clean sheets despite missing almost four months through injury.

Jon McLaughlin has established himself as first-choice goalkeeper and, like Darby, has been an ever-present in League One.

And Hanson has taken the step up a division in his lanky stride to show once again what a threat he can be to any defence.

But it’s the fans who will have the final say in what promises to be a very close fight.

Every player who has made at least ten appearances is eligible for the vote. The squad list includes some who are currently just under that but could make double figures by the end of the season.

There are two ways to cast your vote: Fans can text BCFC and the player’s squad number to 07786-206955. For example, to choose Darby text ‘BCFC2’ to the vote line.

Or you can post a vote to: POTY 2014, Bradford City Football Club, Coral Windows Stadium, Valley Parade, Bradford, BD8 7DY.

Postal votes must arrive before Friday, May 2. The text service shuts at 5pm on that day.

Tickets for the awards night, which is sponsored by Complete IT Systems, are £35 each or £300 for a table of ten. The price includes a three-course meal.

Places can be booked through the Friends of Bradford City website at

Squad: 1 McLaughlin, 2 Darby, 3 Meredith, 4 Dolan, 5 Davies, 6 Drury, 7 Reid, 9 Hanson, 10 Gray, 11 Thompson, 14 Yeates, 16 McHugh, 18 Jones, 20 De Vita, 21 Mclean, 22 Bates, 23 McArdle, 24 Doyle, 27 McBurnie, 28 Reach, 32 Bennett.