Yorkshire director of cricket Martyn Moxon expects the LV= County Championship’s early unpredictability to continue and contribute to a thrilling title race.

There have been a number of weird and wonderful results through Division One during the first quarter of a season which has seen the White Rose win one, lose one and draw two.

Middlesex have provided the prime example of that so far.

After stunning Yorkshire by chasing 472 at Lord’s eleven days ago, they slipped to an innings defeat against Warwickshire at Edgbaston earlier this week.

New Division One leaders Warwickshire travel to Headingley tomorrow.

"I don't think anybody will run away with it this year,” said Moxon, who has also revealed his satisfaction with Yorkshire’s early season performances.

“I think it will be a case of people beating each other. It's that tight, and it's going to be an exciting season.

"I think we're shaping up well, but it shows how competitive the league is that there are very few points between the top eight teams. It's anybody's to win.

“We've shown enough with a quarter of the season gone to say that we're going to be in the mix, hopefully.”

Warwickshire have won two, lost one and drawn one to top the league by a point. Yorkshire are nine points behind in fourth.

"It's a big game again,” added Moxon. “This will be our fifth week on the bounce of Championship cricket, and it's a tough start, physically as well as mentally.

“Top of the league we're playing. If we get a good performance against them, we could be right up there."

Coach Jason Gillespie has named a 14-man squad for tomorrow’s clash. Gary Ballance and Joe Root are expected to be available after England duty.

This will be Kane Williamson’s penultimate Championship appearance before linking up with New Zealand in the Caribbean later this month.

He will be replaced by Aaron Finch once his Indian Premier League commitments are over, potentially as late as June 1. Williamson will return on July 7.

Yorkshire 14-man squad: Gale c, Bairstow, Ballance, Bresnan, Brooks, Hodd, Lees, Lyth, Patterson, Plunkett, Rashid, Root, Sidebottom, Williamson.