Hospital food under fire at BRI

Bradford Royal Infirmary

Bradford Royal Infirmary

First published in News
Last updated
by

THE food served to patients at Bradford Royal Infirmary comes under fire today, in new official ‘league tables’.

The hospital scores only 77.61 per cent for the quality of the meals on its wards – putting it a lowly 1,177 out of the 1,257 hospitals ranked from across England.

It trails far behind Airedale General Hospital (90.86 per cent) as well as smaller hospitals including St Luke’s Hospital (88.94 per cent), Eccleshill Community (99.4 per cent) and Westwood Park (98.91 per cent).

But Bradford Royal Infirmary is ranked higher for the choice of food on offer (85.19 per cent) – putting it ahead of Airedale General (83.09 per cent).

And all the district’s hospitals pass two further tests – whether they serve fruit every time and that their menus have been given the all clear by dieticians.

At the same time, Health Secretary Jeremy Hunt announced that hospitals must now abide by new compulsory food standards, to drive up the quality of their meals.

Any that do not follow the rules would be in breach of their “commissioning contract” – leaving themselves open to action by the health regulator.

Mr Hunt said: “Many hospitals are already offering excellent food to their patients and staff.

“But we want to know that all patients have nourishing and appetising food to help them get well faster and stay healthy.”

The league tables, published on the NHS Choices website, follow inspections by teams of patients, nurses and carers, between March and June.

Experts are concerned that, when a patient is malnourished, it makes recovery more difficult, increases length of stay and can lead to pressure sores and infections.

Comments (14)

Please log in to enable comment sorting

7:13pm Thu 28 Aug 14

sorrow&anger says...

Following on from the school meals fiasco this is yet another national league table that Bradford finds itself at the wrong end of. Two in the same day. When is Cllr. Green going to wake up and realise that there is something seriously wrong with the city he claims he is successfully regenerating?

His' Producer City' is dead in the water. No company is going to move its operation to a place where its employees can't receive adequate medical care.
Following on from the school meals fiasco this is yet another national league table that Bradford finds itself at the wrong end of. Two in the same day. When is Cllr. Green going to wake up and realise that there is something seriously wrong with the city he claims he is successfully regenerating? His' Producer City' is dead in the water. No company is going to move its operation to a place where its employees can't receive adequate medical care. sorrow&anger
  • Score: 8

7:19pm Thu 28 Aug 14

micela22 says...

stayed a couple of times recently in BRI & the food was unpalatable, my concern was with the older patients where the nurses were telling relatives they were eating ok: They weren`t!! another area of Bradford that`s not fit for purpose, where/when/why is it all so wrong?
stayed a couple of times recently in BRI & the food was unpalatable, my concern was with the older patients where the nurses were telling relatives they were eating ok: They weren`t!! another area of Bradford that`s not fit for purpose, where/when/why is it all so wrong? micela22
  • Score: 15

7:32pm Thu 28 Aug 14

Stig25 says...

Had a recent stay in BRI and found the food and choice to be quite good. Portions did look a bit sparse on the plate but they did fill me up and helped me begin to regain of the weight I had lost during the illness that led up to my hospitalisation.
The staff on the ward were great too, so overall I have no complaints about my personal experience at the BRI. Thought there should be a positive comment before the negative bandwagon starts rolling.
Had a recent stay in BRI and found the food and choice to be quite good. Portions did look a bit sparse on the plate but they did fill me up and helped me begin to regain of the weight I had lost during the illness that led up to my hospitalisation. The staff on the ward were great too, so overall I have no complaints about my personal experience at the BRI. Thought there should be a positive comment before the negative bandwagon starts rolling. Stig25
  • Score: 21

7:46pm Thu 28 Aug 14

Meerkat33 says...

It's cook chill and not made fresh anymore, bought in and regend back up at ward level.
It's cook chill and not made fresh anymore, bought in and regend back up at ward level. Meerkat33
  • Score: -4

8:22pm Thu 28 Aug 14

llos25 says...

I had two stays in the BRI recently and the food was spot on and I am a fussy eater a good choice I also had a couple of meals there when my mother was a patient and again the food was very good.It beats the crap that is served in German hospitals and you have to pay for that .
I had two stays in the BRI recently and the food was spot on and I am a fussy eater a good choice I also had a couple of meals there when my mother was a patient and again the food was very good.It beats the crap that is served in German hospitals and you have to pay for that . llos25
  • Score: 7

8:38pm Thu 28 Aug 14

FinlandStation says...

Stig25 wrote:
Had a recent stay in BRI and found the food and choice to be quite good. Portions did look a bit sparse on the plate but they did fill me up and helped me begin to regain of the weight I had lost during the illness that led up to my hospitalisation.
The staff on the ward were great too, so overall I have no complaints about my personal experience at the BRI. Thought there should be a positive comment before the negative bandwagon starts rolling.
I'm glad you found the food enjoyable. You were obviously one of the lucky ones. But the fact remains that in a properly done and statistically relevant survey BRI came our very badly. Personally I regard anecdotal evidence such as yours as the curse of these posts. It can often be used to obscure the facts. The Council's stooges are adept at this ploy.

It is not being negative to draw attention to this unsatisfactory state of affairs and wonder what it going to be done to improve the situation. Especially since there has been no response from BRI, or its private contractors, about the corrective actions they intend to take.
[quote][p][bold]Stig25[/bold] wrote: Had a recent stay in BRI and found the food and choice to be quite good. Portions did look a bit sparse on the plate but they did fill me up and helped me begin to regain of the weight I had lost during the illness that led up to my hospitalisation. The staff on the ward were great too, so overall I have no complaints about my personal experience at the BRI. Thought there should be a positive comment before the negative bandwagon starts rolling.[/p][/quote]I'm glad you found the food enjoyable. You were obviously one of the lucky ones. But the fact remains that in a properly done and statistically relevant survey BRI came our very badly. Personally I regard anecdotal evidence such as yours as the curse of these posts. It can often be used to obscure the facts. The Council's stooges are adept at this ploy. It is not being negative to draw attention to this unsatisfactory state of affairs and wonder what it going to be done to improve the situation. Especially since there has been no response from BRI, or its private contractors, about the corrective actions they intend to take. FinlandStation
  • Score: 13

9:09pm Thu 28 Aug 14

micela22 says...

llos25 wrote:
I had two stays in the BRI recently and the food was spot on and I am a fussy eater a good choice I also had a couple of meals there when my mother was a patient and again the food was very good.It beats the crap that is served in German hospitals and you have to pay for that .
you pay for this if you`ve paid ni
[quote][p][bold]llos25[/bold] wrote: I had two stays in the BRI recently and the food was spot on and I am a fussy eater a good choice I also had a couple of meals there when my mother was a patient and again the food was very good.It beats the crap that is served in German hospitals and you have to pay for that .[/p][/quote]you pay for this if you`ve paid ni micela22
  • Score: -3

9:11pm Thu 28 Aug 14

LeftLongAgo says...

llos25 wrote:
I had two stays in the BRI recently and the food was spot on and I am a fussy eater a good choice I also had a couple of meals there when my mother was a patient and again the food was very good.It beats the crap that is served in German hospitals and you have to pay for that .
If you had crap food in a German hospital then you must have had a very poor Krankenkasse Klass!
[quote][p][bold]llos25[/bold] wrote: I had two stays in the BRI recently and the food was spot on and I am a fussy eater a good choice I also had a couple of meals there when my mother was a patient and again the food was very good.It beats the crap that is served in German hospitals and you have to pay for that .[/p][/quote]If you had crap food in a German hospital then you must have had a very poor Krankenkasse Klass! LeftLongAgo
  • Score: -8

9:19pm Thu 28 Aug 14

Simon4567 says...

I had some very long stays in the BRI when I was much younger, over twenty years ago now back when they made the food on the premises - it was fantastic, everything was top notch stuff. I fondly remember the fish and chips they used to serve, perfectomundo.

Having visited relatives and friends on many occasions in the past few years I can truthfully say the food they serve now is disgusting, I wouldn't feed it to my dogs, it is revolting reheated slop and that's being kind. I have always had to take food in for relatives or picked up sandwiches from the shop in the foyer and taken those for them.
I had some very long stays in the BRI when I was much younger, over twenty years ago now back when they made the food on the premises - it was fantastic, everything was top notch stuff. I fondly remember the fish and chips they used to serve, perfectomundo. Having visited relatives and friends on many occasions in the past few years I can truthfully say the food they serve now is disgusting, I wouldn't feed it to my dogs, it is revolting reheated slop and that's being kind. I have always had to take food in for relatives or picked up sandwiches from the shop in the foyer and taken those for them. Simon4567
  • Score: 3

9:27pm Thu 28 Aug 14

bradford88 says...

You cant expect 5 star food in a hospital its not a restaraunt, when i was staying there for a week i got family members to drop me off whatever i wanted, but ovcourse the food does need improving for our elders i do feel for them
You cant expect 5 star food in a hospital its not a restaraunt, when i was staying there for a week i got family members to drop me off whatever i wanted, but ovcourse the food does need improving for our elders i do feel for them bradford88
  • Score: 3

10:00pm Thu 28 Aug 14

Robin of Loxley says...

Be grateful you're being given free food instead of paying for it.

Some people...
Be grateful you're being given free food instead of paying for it. Some people... Robin of Loxley
  • Score: -1

11:01pm Thu 28 Aug 14

Super999 says...

I had 7 nights in BRI between April and June 5 in April and 2 in May. I thought some of the food was ok. The sandwiches obviously. My only problem was that when you first came on, you only got leftovers and couldn't choose so one day when I was to be starved from midnight the following day, I got one tiny beef burger!! That's all they had left, not even a bread roll to go with it. It was only like 2 days before I went home that I was finally allowed to choose what I wanted myself. I agree with the snacks. Nothing filled me up! And it was often cold! Was so glad to get back home to home cooked food!
I had 7 nights in BRI between April and June 5 in April and 2 in May. I thought some of the food was ok. The sandwiches obviously. My only problem was that when you first came on, you only got leftovers and couldn't choose so one day when I was to be starved from midnight the following day, I got one tiny beef burger!! That's all they had left, not even a bread roll to go with it. It was only like 2 days before I went home that I was finally allowed to choose what I wanted myself. I agree with the snacks. Nothing filled me up! And it was often cold! Was so glad to get back home to home cooked food! Super999
  • Score: 7

8:38am Fri 29 Aug 14

llos25 says...

LeftLongAgo wrote:
llos25 wrote:
I had two stays in the BRI recently and the food was spot on and I am a fussy eater a good choice I also had a couple of meals there when my mother was a patient and again the food was very good.It beats the crap that is served in German hospitals and you have to pay for that .
If you had crap food in a German hospital then you must have had a very poor Krankenkasse Klass!
German health care is not all its cracked upto be same as the United Kingdom luck of the draw where I live it has a superb hospital and such poor local doctors .For your information it does not matter what class of Krankenkasse you have mines not the worst but not the best.
[quote][p][bold]LeftLongAgo[/bold] wrote: [quote][p][bold]llos25[/bold] wrote: I had two stays in the BRI recently and the food was spot on and I am a fussy eater a good choice I also had a couple of meals there when my mother was a patient and again the food was very good.It beats the crap that is served in German hospitals and you have to pay for that .[/p][/quote]If you had crap food in a German hospital then you must have had a very poor Krankenkasse Klass![/p][/quote]German health care is not all its cracked upto be same as the United Kingdom luck of the draw where I live it has a superb hospital and such poor local doctors .For your information it does not matter what class of Krankenkasse you have mines not the worst but not the best. llos25
  • Score: -1

10:33am Sat 30 Aug 14

Apollo says...

Third World hospital.
Third World hospital. Apollo
  • Score: 0

Comments are closed on this article.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree